MAN(ic) Monday.

I know I missed Frugal Friday (please forgive me!!) but I was in Kentucky at the horse races winning the big bucks!  I will make it an extra special FF this Friday to make up for it!

Today I want to address an important part of the wedding that I think people tent to overlook:  the groom and groomsmen.  It’s my personal opinion that as far as “looking pretty” goes, the groom/smen get the short end of the stick because it’s just assumed that they will wear black tuxes, cumberbuns and black shiny shoes and basically “fade into the background” as far as the wedding party is concerned.  The girls always look beautiful and bright and the guys sometimes end up taking a backseat…not really standing out but paying the same amount of money to look like penguins (and the worst part is, they have to return their outfits when the rental is up!).

For our wedding (especially because it’s outside), we may end up opting for a softer looking suit in a grey (that is, if we can find one that doesn’t cost and arm and a leg!).  I am really excited about it because I think the guys will stand out a little more than usual, and maybe we can even figure out a way to let them express their personalities a little bit!  How great would purple and grey look together?  (“REALLY great!”)

As usual, my inspirational collage of standout greys (Oxymoron?  I think not!):

After seeing the photo in the bottom left corner, I think my top choice might even be suspenders and ties, and no jackets??  Maybe jackets at the wedding and none at the reception??  Mason’s choice, really, but we’ll see what he thinks!

We are supposed to go tux/suit shopping again this weekend or the next, so we’ll see what we find!  I think it’s so much fun to shop for this when it’s a little different than typical black tux.  Guys deserve to be extra cute too!

JT says wearing grey suits is cool, and as far as I’m concerned, JT always knows best.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ruffledwedding.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/manic-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

