Good Bride, Bad Blog

I know, I know….shame on me for not blogging pretty much at all lately.  I don’t even know how to explain myself, I am ashamed.  But let’s move on!

After way too much time, I would like to present to you……our Save the Date postcard!

Yes, friends, that is the spot we will be getting married in at my parent’s home!  And I cannot wait to share my invitations with you after I send them in a couple weeks because (hello!) they have the same theme carried in them!  A lady at my mom’s church who is just getting into full-time photography took this picture for us and her husband put together the postcard and had it printed through the company that prints their programs at church!  It was an awesome, less expensive option and they turned out GREAT!

It has been so much fun coming up with creative ways to do the things that I see in magazines or on blogs.  You really can have most anything you want at your wedding if you are a) patient enough to shop around, b) resourceful with the people you know and the things they are good at doing and c) if you have a glass of wine at night sometimes when you get done with everything to keep from getting too overwhelmed.  🙂

Let’s see…what else can I share with you to make up for all this lost time??

Well, I have really great bridesmaid gift ideas too but I can’t share those because my lovely bridesmaids do look at this sometimes!  I will share those after the wedding, along with everything else that’s top secret!

Here are some other creative things we have been working on…

My dad made wooden boxes for our centerpieces, and mom is staining them!  That will still give the centerpieces a rustic feel but the flowers will make it look pretty and soft.  Speaking of flowers, I have to share this particular blog I found with a beautiful, yet inexpensive way to use baby’s breath as a main “flower” in your wedding!  This is going to be perfect for our outdoor wedding, but even indoors, there are gorgeous ways to use this inexpensive yet full and pretty flower option!

Since it’s hard to predict how hot or cool it may be at the end of September in North Carolina at 4:30 PM outside (but it’s safer to go with hot!), we are printing programs that double as fans – they will be similar to the picture above but not exactly…they will actually be three “tiered” and tied at the bottom so that people can fan them out and use them!

I also wanted to share a couple pictures from my first shower in Raleigh a few weeks ago with all my college friends!

The shower was at Coquette in Raleigh and the decor was great!  My friend Melinda made the ruffly paper flowers and had picked up about 15 vintage vases and put them down the whole table, and even let me take them home at the end of the day to use at the wedding!!  They also got cupcakes from a cupcake shop in Raleigh that were SO cute with wedding dresses and “M’s” on them.  We had a great time and people were so generous with their gifts.  Showers are just incredible…people are so giving and you just feel very overwhelmed with happiness of having all the people around you who you love!  In fact, we realized we needded to register for more after that shower because we got so much, and I still have 3 to go plus the wedding!! 

I hope you enjoyed this small update, and I hope I will have more time to keep this updated before the wedding!!  Only 77 days to go…it’s crazy how quickly this engagement period has passed us by but it’s also really exciting to get to the fun showers and parties, and house hunting and dress fittings and pictures!!  I hope you’re having a great weekend….we are house hunting all weekend so back to it!

Published in: on July 10, 2010 at 11:59 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ruffledwedding.wordpress.com/2010/07/10/224/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] these invites is that the barn at the top is the actual barn in my parent’s back yard from our Save the Dates, which will be the view from the spot we’re getting married at.  The photographer took a […]


Leave a Reply

